Look What Mommy Made

A creative, home-made, hand-made blog

How to make DIY Applesauce

on July 30, 2013

Making-ApplesauceDo you have some Ugly Apples? You know what I mean, maybe they sat on your counter or in your fridge, neglected and forgotten. Maybe they were home grown, so they aren’t all perfect and pretty.

I hate the thought of throwing out good food. (Think of those kids that don’t ever get to eat, besides the money that you’re wasting!) Well, here’s a solution for those apples that people might have otherwise thrown out. Are you ready?

Make Homemade Applesauce

..In your crockpot, no less!

I peeled..

Making Applesauce

..cut, and cored these apples into regular size pieces.

Making Applesauce

Then I added them to the crock pot with the water, sugar, and cinnamon.

Making Applesauce

I covered with the lid and turned it on to cook all day (8 hours on my machine). I was going to be home so it didn’t matter how long it took, to me.

Essentially, all you’re trying to do is get the apples mushy. Once they get there, all you need is a masher (or a fork if you only have a few apples) and mash them all up. I liked the long time, low temp method, mashing when I thought they were soft enough, then I cooked it longer. It made the house smell AWESOME. I just kept mashing until I got it to a smoothness I liked.

Voila! You’ve just made applesauce! Once you’ve made it the first time, you can always take away some of the sugar, or add more cinnamon, or take out the cinnamon, you know? Play with it a little. You won’t be disappointed!

Plus, it’s a healthier alternative to the “high fructose corn syrup” they put into regular applesauce. ENJOY!

Recipe:

7 apples (whatever kind you want. Mine were Fuji.)

1 1/4 cups water

1/4 cups sugar (add a few tablespoons of brown sugar for a darker, different flavor)

1 teaspoon of cinnamon

2 responses to “How to make DIY Applesauce

  1. LFFL says:

    I made homemade applesauce before and I just LOVED how fresh it tasted.

What Would You Like to Share?

