Look What Mommy Made

A creative, home-made, hand-made blog

DIY Personalized Mugs

on November 29, 2012

Here’s a fun one. My mother has drank coffee since I can remember. In fact, I remember making her coffee when I was young, and carefully trying to walk with the cup back to her bedroom without spilling it, to wake her up in the morning. My brother and I both did this all the time. So now, I’m older, and I, too, appreciate coffee. So when my mother asked for coffee mugs this year for Christmas, you know that I had to make something, and it had to work with my non-existent budget. 😉

So here we go!

What You’ll Need:

  • Mugs from a thrift store, white or light colored
  • Sharpies or Porcelain Pen
  • Oven

So this is super simple. Get some mugs from a thrift store. Our local Salvation Army has plenty of houseware items like this, and I scored a set of four matching mugs for less than 2$. My husband and I have somehow managed to accumulate what seems to be hundreds of Sharpie markers, so I had no problem there. (BUT I did end up buying paint pens, and I’ll explain why later).

Clean your mugs and remove any stickers from the store. I ran mine through the dishwasher and sanitize cycle. Find some quirky sayings, or your favorite quotes, or anything you want to write or draw on your mugs. Preheat your oven to 350 degrees. Now, go ahead and draw or write on your mugs.

Once your oven is heated up, use a shallow pan or cookie sheet to place your mugs on. Then pop them in the oven and wait. I heated mine up for 30 minutes. The first time. I say the first time because after I pulled out the first mug and let it cool for an hour or two, the sharpie scratched right off when I used my fingernail. This freaked me out a little, so I bought those paint pens. HOWEVER, after I did the other 3 mugs with the paint pens, and I was ready to clean the first mug off and try again, the sharpie wouldn’t come off! I scrubbed it, and ran it through the dishwasher and it wasn’t coming off. EVENTUALLY, using LOTS of elbow grease and a “scratchless” scrubby sponge, all of the sharpie came off and I redid the mug with the paint pens to match the others. (But it was apparent to me, that the sharpie method was just fine!)

On the other three mugs, I did use 350 degrees for one hour and I recommend leaving your mugs overnight before throwing them into the dishwasher. They ARE dishwasher safe! (Especially if you use the paint pens)

Have fun! These are really fun, and if you have older kids, they can make some, too, for the perfect permanent artwork. 🙂

-Roxanne, LWMM

4 responses to “DIY Personalized Mugs

  1. […] DIY Boys T-shirt DIY Personalized Mugs » Nov […]

  2. I have been itching to try this, but I’ve never found anyone that’s posted that they’ve tried it. Thanks for sharing!

    • Roxanne says:

      Yeah, Julie! No problem! I have heard from some, though, that it works on some mugs, but not all. I have no idea why, but if it doesn’t work with a sharpie, you can still make it work with a porcelain paint pen from a hobby store! 🙂 Thanks for stopping by!

What Would You Like to Share?

