Look What Mommy Made

A creative, home-made, hand-made blog

How to Make Chalk Paints

on October 6, 2012
How To Make Chalk Paint

How To Make Chalk Paint – Easy to do!

Well, everyone, sorry I’ve been gone for a little bit! I had a weekend in Arizona with some friends (a tweetup, actually), and I’ve been working extra hard on trying to some work. Unfortunately, my non-existent budget is back in action! That could be a good thing, I guess. Lol. πŸ™‚

Anyway, I have been trying to come up with things for the kids for Christmas. Now, when I say kids, I mean my 3 year old niece, and a 3 year old little girl named Elizabeth. My 9 month old son, Luther, is a little young for hand made items like these, and I’ll write about what I’m doing for my 13 year old, later. πŸ™‚

Now, I love pinterest, and someone I follow is an addict. Haha. She always has such cool things to pin and I found this idea while looking through her boards. I changed it a little because I didn’t have any leftover bits of chalk, like that person did, and I wanted real colors, not mixed ones. Since summer came to a close in the retail stores, I managed to pick up a set of 20 pieces of chalk for .50Β’. Sweet deal!

What You’ll Need:

  • Water
  • Containers (I used baby food jars)
  • Chalk
  • Ziplock baggie
  • Something to crush the chalk with (I used the bottom of a measuring cup, and then later, the baby food jars)

Place two pieces of chalk in the baggie and smash it with whatever tool you decided to use. When crushing my chalk, I found out why it was so cheap; it had gotten wet at some point. This made it easy for me to mash up. When all of your chalk is pretty much powder, pour it into your container. I had four of each color and two little girls, so I used two pieces of each color in each jar to end up with ten.

After you have poured your crushed chalk into the container, add just enough water to give it that “paint” consistency. I filled my baby food jars about 3/4 full, and that seemed to work out pretty good. Shake up the contents. πŸ™‚ That’s it!

Now, you will also need a paint brush to actually use the “paints”, but you can pick those up at a local hobby store. Also, DO NOT USE FOAM BRUSHES! They tear up on the sidewalk and concrete, so there really is no point in wasting your money on them. A thin, 1 inch paintbrush used for trim and molding it just about perfect!

The paints won’t show up great while they are still wet, but after they dry, they look great! Just be sure to shake up your containers before using them, to make sure everything is good and mixed!

Have fun!

-Roxanne, LWMM

One response to “How to Make Chalk Paints

  1. Marti says:

    I love that! I would love for you to post to SHOW-licious Sunday Craft Showcase! Just follow this link πŸ™‚ http://sewliciousdecor.wordpress.com.

What Would You Like to Share?

