Look What Mommy Made

A creative, home-made, hand-made blog

“Easiest Corndogs Ever”

on September 14, 2012

Easiest Corndogs - not my image!So, a lazy day I was searching on Pinterest and happened across a pin that I thought would be A-w-e-s-o-m-e. It was a pin for the “easiest corndogs ever”. Essentially, jiffy cornbread in a muffin tin with hot dogs cut into bite sizes, shoved in the middle, and baked.

When I looked at the source site for this pin, I was sad to see it was only an image, with no real recipe or blog attached to it. So I figured I would try it. It couldn’t be that hard. So I got to it:

My two boxes of jiffy, corresponding quantity of eggs, milk, hot dogs, and muffin paper cups.

I filled the tin with paper cups, preheated my oven at 400 and added my jiffy ingredients to a bowl. I whisked it up and filled my paper cups (12 muffin tin cups,about 3/4 full).

I cut three hot dogs into thirds, to fit in the middle of each muffin, then just pushed them into the middle of the raw mix.

I baked them for about 15 minutes (they were just starting to brown a little bit on the edges.)

Now, to my delight, they turned out looking pretty perfect. Not exactly like my pin, but close enough. I was super excited to try them. My husband, whom hates “Yankee cornbread” (the yellow, sweet kind.. Which to my knowledge is considered “southern”, and “Yankees” were the northern statespeople.. But I love my dear husband, so I try not to think about it too much. šŸ˜‰ ), tried them first. He said there was too much “muffin”.

When I ate one, unfortunately, I agreed. I love jiffy, but for this particular experience, I was expecting something a little different. My husband suggested slicing the hot dogs up next time, although he was skeptical about eating them again (he’s oh-so-picky about food).

Once you actually get to the meat, the combination is really close to a corndog, and exactly what I had expected to taste, but there’s just SO much muffin!

I aim to try these again, and take hubby’s suggestion. They definitely need more hot dog. šŸ™‚

If you try these, let me know! Or if you have any suggestions, I’m always looking for kid/teen friendly, car-friendly or crock pot-able, easy meals for our trips to Oklahoma City twice a month or so!

-Roxanne, LWMM

2 responses to ““Easiest Corndogs Ever”

  1. Poppy says:

    Too funny! I thought my mom invented these things YEARS ago… HA! Anyway, just a tip: use mini muffin cups, OR, what I do is slice up the dogs into four pieces, stick a toothpick in one end, dunk them in the corn muffin mix, then put a couple pick side up in each muffin cup to bake. Oh! Soak the toothpicks in water FIRST! šŸ™‚

What Would You Like to Share?

