Look What Mommy Made

A creative, home-made, hand-made blog

How to Make Your Own Flavored Water

on July 20, 2012
How to Make Flavored Water

Make your own Flavored Water!

Yes, you read that title correctly! Make your own flavored water! If you’re like me, you know you need to drink water, but you really just want something with flavor. You know that all that sugar in your tea and juice is bad, but water really just isn’t what you want.

Let’s change that! I have seen a lot of “infusers” lately, and it made me curious. What do you do with those? I’ve had a lemon in my water and it doesn’t taste all that yummy. Well, why not choose another fruit? Or an herb? Or both? Oh, yes. You can do this. You can even add a little sugar, if you can’t stand the way it tastes and a teaspoon or two isn’t going to blow your whole day, especially if you’re just starting this new lifestyle of getting healthier. (Eventually, you’ll get used to having less sugar, and then you may leave it out all together.)

What You’ll Need:
Water
Fruit
Herbs like Basil, Lavendar, Mint (optional)

Fill a pitcher with spring water, if you want, or just regular tap water. I used tap water. I had a lemon and some basil leftover from another recipe, so I used the rest for this one. šŸ˜‰ (It turned out VERY yummy. Even my 13 year old son thought so!)

You can place your fruit in a cheese cloth and tie it so you can easily remove it later, or just throw in the fruit (which is what I did) and strain it out with a spoon after its done “steeping”.

I refrigerated this overnight and then removed the herbs and fruit. Pour over ice and voila! Flavored water!

Some other recipes to try:

Make Flavored Water

Its really easy to make flavored water!

Lemon and Mint
Lemon and Lavendar
Blackberries
Oranges
Strawberries
Lemongrass
Ginger
Cucumbers
Watermelon
Grapefruit
Pomegranate and Blueberries
Cranberries and Orange Slices
Lemon and Ginger
Pineapple slices and coconut water
Strawberries and Vanilla extract
Apple Slices
Mango and Kiwi
Blueberries
Lime and Mint leaf

There are so many combinations! Try what you think you’d like and let me know how it turned out!

4 responses to “How to Make Your Own Flavored Water

  1. Homemade flavored water sounds delicious! I completely agree that plain water isn’t exactly tasty. Thank you so much for this great post, and I’ll definitely try to make some of my own!

  2. mommymags says:

    I made cucumber lemon water and it was sooo good! Now that I am pregnant again and have gestational diabetes, I have to drink even more water than normal. Thanks so much for the other ideas! Will try them out!

What Would You Like to Share?

