Look What Mommy Made

A creative, home-made, hand-made blog

Make Your Own Vanilla Drink Syrup

on May 3, 2012

Okay, this is not original, but I never said everything I wrote about would be! Have you ever had that vanilla drink and wanted to make it at home? Its ridiculously easy. My husband and I really liked the Vanilla Iced Coffees at McDonald’s and in my efforts to save money, I looked up copy cat recipes. I found one that worked perfect, which I will share at the end of this post! πŸ™‚

First, all you need – are you ready for this? – is

How to Make Your Own Vanilla Syrup

How to Make Your Own Vanilla Syrup

  • Vanilla Extract
  • White Sugar
  • Water

OMiGosh! Easy right? Yeah, that easy. Okay, so what do you do with those ingredients?

Pour 1 cup water and 2 cups white sugar into a small pot stir until the sugar dissolves. Begin boiling the mix and continue boiling for about 5 minutes. Stir occasionally. Turn off the heat and stir in 2 Tablespoons of Vanilla Extract. Allow to cool before pouring it into a container for keeping in the fridge.

I used a washed olive oil bottle with a lid. Poured it in with a funnel and everything. Apparently, its supposed to last in the fridge for about 2 weeks, but I haven’t had it in the fridge for that long to find out one way or another. The syrup can be used for teas, lemonade, pop, whatever you want.

How to Make Your Own Vanilla Syrup

How to Make Your Own Vanilla Syrup

Now.. for that recipe I spoke about. Let me warn you, its not healthy. Not in the slightest. I never said this was a diet blog. πŸ˜›

Copy Cat McDonald’s Vanilla Iced Coffee

1/4 cup Half and Half
1/4 cup Vanilla Syrup
16 oz (two cups) ice
1 cup of coffee

Pour the ice into a big cup. Pour the syrup and half and half over the ice. Finish by pouring in the coffee and mix it up. That’s it!

You could even make up a batch of the syrup and the half and half in a jar or tupperware to keep in the fridge, pre-measured. I thought about giving away the syrup in jars with bows, too. If I do, I’ll post about it. πŸ˜‰

Enjoy your vanilla drinks!

4 responses to “Make Your Own Vanilla Drink Syrup

  1. […] it. This would work great with the Vanilla Iced Coffee Recipe that I shared with you, in the post “Make Your Own Vanilla Drink Syrup”! If you have any other ideas, let me know by leaving me a comment! Share this to..: Pin […]

  2. […] fun with it. You can even make DIY syrups instead, and use those! Happy […]

What Would You Like to Share?

